EFORT Head Office ZA La Pièce 2 1180 Rolle, Switzerland Tel +41 21 343 44 00 Fax +41 21 343 44 11 office@efort.org

www.efort.org



Guidelines - Best National Paper presentation

EFORT, as the European leading platform for high quality musculoskeletal research, wishes to implement for the upcoming edition of its annual congress, a new session focusing on the presentation of the best papers from each National Member Society. To showcase the best available research to the widest audience of Orthopaedics and Trauma (O&T) surgeons in Europe, this EFORT initiative aims at increasing the level of the scientific programme and creating an attractive milieu for the participants.

<u>Goals</u>

- Involve the National Member Societies in the scientific content building of the EFORT congress
- Stimulate the National Member Societies to focus on high quality science
- Stimulate networking between representatives of all National Member Societies
- Create a Research Culture within the EFORT community

Selection Process

Each EFORT National Member Society is invited to choose their Best National Paper through a transparent process following their own selection criteria. The selected Best National Paper of each country should be forwarded to EFORT for further consideration as a research piece of work fulfilling the EFORT abstract submission requirements, through the online abstract submission platform which will be specifically open in this sense, from Monday 05 December 2022 to Friday 06 January 2023, 23:59 CET.

Abstract Structure

Best National Papers should in any case correspond to complete unpublished research studies. No clinical reports will be considered.

Abstracts should be written in English. Diagrams, tables or pictures are not permitted, only text is accepted. The following structure is mandatory:

<u>Title</u>: minimum 25 / maximum 250 characters <u>Keywords</u>: minimum 3 / maximum 7 keywords – chosen to identify the abstract on an electronic search <u>Abstract</u>: minimum 1000 / maximum 3600 characters – under five mandatory sections

Background – Why is your study needed? What do we know Vs. what gaps are there in our knowledge? **Objectives** – What is the research question your study aims to answer?

Design and Methods – Outline how the study was conducted.

Results – Briefly summarise the findings, quoting supporting data

Conclusion - Briefly discuss your results and what your study adds - only based on your own findings

PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Li Felländer-Tsai li.fellander-tsai@efort.org

Prof. Dr. Theofilos Karachalios

theofilos.karachalios@efort.org

TREASURER

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Enrique Gómez Barrena enrique.gomezbarrena@efort.org

MEMBER Dr. Katre Maasalu katre.maasalu@efort.org SECOND VICE PRESIDENT Mr. David Limb david.limb@efort.org

Prof. Dr. Stefan Nehrer

stefan.nehrer@efort.org

MEMBER

SECRETARY GENERAL Prof. Dr. Rob Nelissen rob.nelissen@efort.org PAST PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Klaus-Peter Günther klaus-peter.guenther@efort.org

MEMBER Prof. Dr. Pietro Ruggieri pietro.ruggieri@efort.org YOUNG MEMBER Dr. Filipe Lima Santos filipe.lima.santos@efort.org **EFORT Head Office** ZA La Pièce 2 1180 Rolle, Switzerland Tel +41 21 343 44 00 Fax +41 21 343 44 11 office@efort.org





All Best National Papers correctly fulfilling the EFORT criteria will be accepted for presentation during a Poster Walk Session. Authors with the best scores for poster presentations will have the chance to further discuss their results during an Oral Session (podium presentation embedded in the congress programme).

EFORT recommends to the presenting authors of all the accepted Best National Papers to have their results ready on both a paper poster support and a set of Power Point slides (two presentation formats possible).

Presentation Format

All accepted Best National Papers will be displayed as wall paper posters during the 3 days of the congress, in a prominent, dedicated area. On the first day of the congress, a Poster Walk Session will take place during which at least one author from each Best National Paper will present the results in a 5-minutes discussion with two moderators.

Out of the poster presentations, six Best National Papers will be selected for an Oral Session running on the second day of the congress (14h45 – 15h45). Each selected Best National Paper is allocated 6 minutes for presentation followed by a 3-minutes discussion with the audience and the moderators.

At the end of the 60-minutes oral session, attendees from the audience will use an electronic voting system (within the congress App) to choose the three best oral presentations. The names of the winners will be announced in a special award hand-over session later the same day.

EFORT Selection Committee

The EFORT Selection Committee for the Best National Paper Poster Walk consists of two Orthopaedics & Traumatology experts from different countries, other than the countries presenting in the group they are moderating. A predefined scoring grid will be used in order to have unique scoring criteria and transparency in the selection process.

The selection during the Best National Paper Oral Session is directly driven by the audience voting.

Attendance & Recognition

The presenting author of each selected Best National Paper will receive a free full registration to the 2022 congress.

The presenting author of each Best National Paper will receive a recognition ribbon for his/her congress badge. Paper poster supports of each Best National Paper will receive a recognition rosette mentioning the country participating in the selection.

The three Best National Paper winners will receive an EFORT Special Distinction certificate and will be invited to participate in further EFORT marketing campaigns including interviews and social media.

PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Li Felländer-Tsai li.fellander-tsai@efort.org

Prof. Dr. Theofilos Karachalios

theofilos.karachalios@efort.org

TREASURER

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Enrique Gómez Barrena enrique.gomezbarrena@efort.org

MEMBER Dr. Katre Maasalu katre.maasalu@efort.org

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT Mr. David Limb david.limb@efort.org

MEMBER Prof. Dr. Stefan Nehrer stefan.nehrer@efort.org SECRETARY GENERAL Prof. Dr. Rob Nelissen rob.nelissen@efort.org

pietro.ruggieri@efort.org

MEMBER

Prof. Dr. Pietro Ruggieri

PAST PRESIDENT Prof. Dr. Klaus-Peter Günther klaus-peter.guenther@efort.org

YOUNG MEMBER Dr. Filipe Lima Santos filipe.lima.santos@efort.org